2016: The year that wasn’t as good as we hoped, but 2017 should be better by default.

With 2016 winding down to an end (thankfully), there’s much to look back on during this year and also much to look forward to in the next. At this point in time I’m not sure how often I’ll be writing at the House of Paincakes, it’s been a slow year over yonder with about 4 semi-regular authors there. Sinsynn’s taken up residence over at Gmorts, with some guest posting. Regardless of what happens to the House next year, I figure I’ve at least one post left- HoP does Cancon 2017. Gonna go down for some SAGA as I’l be able to meet a couple of other HoP regulars in person and have some fun. Couldn’t get rules for Anglo-Saxons due to print runs and such so I’ll be using Anglo-Danes. Need to find dane axes for the hearthguard but can easily go without for the time being.

With work, night shift is going to be the way of it until placement next year in Feb- passed Cytopathology and work’s taking me on for placement! Hopefully my advanced standing goes through for already being in a lab, cutting 4 weeks off. With placement there will be a bunch of day shifts and half-days/full days off which should allow for some Wednesday night gaming to happen. As it stands, I’m getting rid of most of my collection due to an irregular amount of gaming. Between Malifaux and occasional SAGA games there should be enough to satisfy gaming needs/desires until The Other Side comes out.

tos.jpg

For those not in the know, Wyrd games is making a larger game, played on a 6×4 table with fire teams of models. The setting is the same one as Malifaux but on the Earthside of the Breach. There’s just been a bunch of faction overviews (of the four thus far) released and if there’s interest locally I’ll invest in the Abyssinians as mechas are cool. That all being said, there’s been numerous games throughout this year I’ve either tried getting into and failed; or failed to source opponents for games before even getting into said game. Infinity being one of those, AoS being another. The former community being WAACish and the latter being disinclined to leave Northside (being I need to travel 45mins plus by car if I want a game or hit up a GW, all 3 are further out). Reiterating the point that Ipswich, QLD is a gaming hole unless you play Magic. So! Away it’ll all go beside Malifaux, SAGA and some LOTR models that do see occasional play. As sad as it is to get rid of so many half-started projects, it’s for the best. A resolution to buy less, paint more is gonna come in effect.

Getting back on a positive, I am excited for The Other Side as it looks fun to play and the fireteam bases will make for excellent coherent basing projects. I’ve also booked my spot in the SAGA tournament at Cancon, gotta book accommodation and flights soon- Going to aim for mid/late Sat arrival and leaving first thing Monday morning, so there’s a need to find accommodation that allows for early check-outs. Haven’t organised a holiday before that’s included accommodation- it’s either been done by parents or more recently by me, but staying at my dad’s place in Echuca, VIC (slightly left of the Middle of Fucking Nowhere). Gotta time things so I can be back for work on the Monday, unless I ask for that off. Really cannot wait to meet internet friends in real life and have a good time.

More importantly, on the 6th of November, I finally won my first game of Malifaux! It went down literally to the wire, with Lilith vs Lynch. My opponent had 5 cards in hand, aiming to use Final Debt (damage = cards in hand) to kill Lilith, preventing me from getting VP for the strat. A previous attack would have put me on 4 wounds, had I not prevented one measly bit of damage to sit at 5 wounds. With no soulstones and 5 wounds left vs 5 cards in hand, it came down to me flipping a 13 on a wp duel to force my opponent to cheat down a Red Joker, landing the attack but only doing 4 damage. I ended up winning 6-5, but damn it was hard-fought and well played. I did it, heh. Finally. Then in my most recent game I asked to fight uphill- my fixed list sucks horribly at corner hold missions, but I still gained VP- lost 3-8 but eh, gotta figure out what my list can and can’t do.

In the new year, there’s also Briscon happening in April. Unsure if there’s any Malifaux on that as my local Henchman is a tad wary of the organisers as they didn’t respond to his query last year. If games happen, they happen. Before that though, there’s the painting course with Meg Maples in March. It’s an intermediate level class but I figure I’m probably ready for that class. The painting skill has improved markedly this year alone. Gonna paint like a fiend before hand to push the limits to be ready and then use skills gained to paint Titania’s crew as I want to go whole hog on those models.

I also want to transition over somewhat to painting in acrylics on canvas, just for something different and outdoorsy. Acrylic is a medium I’m familiar with (cuz miniatures) so learning stuff on a canvas can be applied to minis and vice versa according to brain logic. With the nature of my joint surgery back in October, I can’t do impact sports until April >.> didn’t really do any of that but I’m feeling far more mobile than I was before and haven’t experienced a flare-up in my joints since the surgery. Life’s good.

Unsure if I’ll fit another post in before Jan 2017, so if I don’t post anything I wish you all a safe and happy holiday season.

Happy Hogswatch!

-The Warlock

Leave a Reply

